h1

Sing a Song on Alien Soil

November 25, 2006

Lyrics:  Daniel Barkowitz
Music:  Noah Aronson
Based on:  Psalm 137:4

The plane touches down on an ancient runway.
My heart skips a beat as the wheels slow down.
I stand, now silent, on my people’s highway
as the dust of the past makes a whispering sound.

CHORUS:
Eich nashir et shir Adonai
Al adamah neichar
How can we sing to You on this alien soil?

This land, our land, is a land so foreign.
In all of my years, I had never arrived
at a place where the hopes of my people were born,
in a place where they fought, where they struggled, survived.

I’ve heard the stories of their endless toil,
I’ve learned the facts, and their history’s known.
I sing a song on this alien soil
but my heart and my soul never felt more at home.

 

14 comments

  1. “as the dust of the past makes a whispering sound”, a beautfully poetic line. Excellent poem!!


  2. Its been awhile since I was here…its good to be here


  3. David, this is very interesting to read and leaves me wondering if you are describing reality or fantasy. Very well written either way. 🙂


  4. As a poet, and an avid reader, I have to say that I very much enjoyed my leisurely stroll through your blog…it was time well spent; enriching and enlightening. I thank you…


  5. Nice blog!


  6. daniel, this is really beautiful and makes me wonder if you’re anticipating your emotional response to israel?


  7. Thanks, always good posts on your blog!


  8. Hey!
    Luv the hiaku 🙂 When will we write another poem together?

    L.O.L.,
    Bar


  9. Предполагали окунуться в лоно как физического, так и морального удовлетворения? Тогда вы сделали справедливый выбор. Для тех, кто уважает себя и ценит сексуальных транс-див: элитные, универсальные транссексуалы приглашают к себе в гости. следуй тропой наслаждений с нами.


  10. Каждому Привет! Заходите на сайт и качайте море уникального софта, эмуляторы, инструкции,


  11. Каждому Привет! Кто вкурсе? Вот сайт с эмуляторами он нормальный? http://buildboy.ru/themes/


  12. Всем Привет! Оцените мой сайт! Мой первый опт в сео! Он нормальный? http://buildboy.ru/themes/


  13. Всем Доброе утро! Кто вкурсе? Вот сайт с эмуляторами он нормальный? http://dmviko.ru/files/


  14. Добрый день, не могу разобраться, как оставить комментарии на сайте .
    Спасибо большое :d



Leave a Reply

