h1

Tarot Nine – The Hermit

September 22, 2006

Alone, but not lonely
the Hermit, the Wild One
advances the knowledge
he gains through strange means. He

alone, and he only,
the wizened ascetic
withdraws from the world with
the power he owns. So

imagine, if only,
this Merlin / Morgana
inspired us all to this
same inner search, then

what wisdom, what holy
and mystical power could
solitude, quiet
inspire within us. So

take from this only
the need to withdraw and to
ponder the options you
have at your hand. Be

alone, but don’t only
remain in that solitude
take the time needed,
return, then return…


Another in the Tarot series, this one began with the phrase in my mind of “Alone, but not lonely” as the perfect way to describe the character of the Hermit. I also “heard” the beat of “da-DUM da-da-da-da da-DUM” repeating in my ear, so thought I would try to get the rhythmic beat as another part of the piece.

Much of this was written this morning waiting in line to purchase round challah for Rosh Hashanah. The holiday also has me thinking introspectively. This is that time of year where Jews are supposed to look within and examine themselves. In many ways, this is the essential paradox: tomorrow I will sit in a synagogue with over 1200 people and try to create an intimate space where I can come face to face with myself and my God. I need the power of the Hermit at this time more than ever!

5 comments

  1. …and the beat goes on – thanks for sharing your introspective thoughts and for always returning!


  2. This was great. I will need to go back and read the other 8.


  3. I’m a big fan of being a hermit. I don’t what I’d do if I couldn’t get away once in a while to think. P.S. Why are hermits always considered “Wild Ones”? Hmmm.


  4. That is a beautiful poem! It helped me to understand my partner better…. thank you.


  5. I love the hermit.
    I saw him last night again on my journey.

    I also wrote- this is my wild side- it is the side that does whatever it really feels like and cares not what people think.
    I do keep this side to myself though- because people think you are a nutter- when you just allow spirit to take over.

    Reminds me of a shaman.



Leave a Reply

