h1

Firelight – a 55 word poem

October 20, 2005

Firelight –
Embers flicker in crisp air.
White-hot center of the flame –
cooling to black husks of used woodpulp.
Standing within the fire’s reach,
heated air rising as the body’s blood warms –
shadow-dancing in the reflected light –
to the “hiss/pop/crack” of music played –
a cacophony of wood percussion.

Firelight –
hallowed haunting in the smoky Fall night.


Part of the 55 word poem series begun by .:A:. — although I am counting hyphenates and linked words as one word.

If you want to join in, post a 55 word poem on your blog with the following link embedded.

Tag:

7 comments

  1. Very visual. I can hear the sounds and see the sights.

    Have linked this to my 55 word poem post. Thanks!


  2. I second :A:

    Beautiful!


  3. ooh, very nice! I counted my hyphenated word as one too. I mean, technically it IS one word, according to MS Word too! lol.


  4. a visual and sensual fall treat – very nice!


  5. I’m with you on hyphenated words. Great work.


  6. Very nice word picture featuring the senses. well done.

    I’m here from poetry carnival.

    I hope you’ll come by and say hello sometime at my place.

    Garnet


  7. Nice job with imagery and sound- apt for the season.
    I’m enjoying reading others’ interpretations of the 55-word poem, I saw at .:A.:’s and on other poetry sites. Soon, I will tackle this!



Leave a Reply

