h1

Publication news

August 4, 2005

It’s been a banner day today!

To begin with, today is my 36th birthday! I love birthdays, and I am wandering around today with two pins on my shirt proclaiming that it is my day (one brilliant purple against my teal/sea green shirt).

Can you tell I am a Leo?

Also, I just found out today that my first poem ever has been selected for publication. As a birthday gift, I was given a Barnes and Noble gift card which I used to purchase the 2006 Poet’s Market which lists publications which accept poetry submissions. The book arrived Tuesday. So last night, I submitted a set of 4 poems to one of the publications listed in the directory, and lo and behold, this morning I had an email in my inbox informing me that one had been selected to be published. The poem, “I Took a Trip to Saturn” will appear in the Autumn edition of “Poetic Hours”, a bi-annual magazine which specializes in featuring new poets.

My first publication credit and my birthday on the same day! Who could ask for more?

3 comments

  1. Happy Birthday and congratulations!!!


  2. That’s fantastic!

    Oh, and great news about the upcoming publication as well.


  3. Daniel,
    That is supercalifragilistic news. What a natural high! Happy Belated birthday, too. Here’s my (somewhat famous) blogger balloon: ~~~~~~~~~O ~~~~~~~~~O in purple and teal, two of my favourite colours.
    BTW, my house is decorated in those colours!

    My copy of that Poet’s Market book is on hold at B & N since before your BD. (They were not in yet in my area.) Can’t wait to see it published. What a thrill!



Leave a Reply

