h1

Tarot: Three – The Empress

July 25, 2005
Dear Mom,

Did I ever tell you?
Did I?
That my world was more complete
when you were in it?
That I know I owe my very existence
to your patient breath and willing heart?

The creation you underwent to create me
is awe-inspiring. Gestation, feeding me
and encompassing my every need.
Your self-sacrifice and giving overwhelm me.

What act of my creation can compare?
My petty concerns pale in comparison
to life-giving. Nurturer, source of my life,
I honor you as mother and creator.

Dear Son,

Did I ever tell you?
Did I?
That my world was more complete
once you were in it?
That you redefined my very existence
with your quiet breath and fragile beating heart?

The creation I underwent to create you
filled me with awe as well. Inspiration, feeding me,
intuition saw to my every need.
I sacrificed nothing, and only gained from

this act of creation. I compare
you to a pale tree, born out of
life-giving, nurturing mother’s milk.
I honor you, my creation, as your mother.


Another entry in the Tarot series, this is conceived as two letters which sit as mirrors of each other. I tried particularly to have the language echo from one to the other. This was also written as a letter to my own mother who passed away before I could say these words to her.

2 comments

  1. Hi Daniel,
    Nice sentiments/emotion in this poem. I think you use the create/creation/creator too many times. Otherwise, I quite like it!


  2. Very touching sentiments. ^_^

    My petty concerns pale in comparison

    I sacrificed nothing, and only gained from

    this act of creation. I compare

    Loved those lines. Especially the line break between second and third stanzas.



Leave a Reply

