h1

Tarot: Zero – The Fool

July 13, 2005

Zero,
Pregnant with possibility.
None,
Ambassador of the naive.

Windswept, at the cliff’s edge,
looking out at a rugged landscape
where the sheer end of the path
tumbles down a ragged mountainside

to land, broken and bruised, at the bottom.
But i, I look ever toward
a world of apex and zenith
never focused on failing

(or falling), but on flight.
Isn’t this what potential feels like?
The giddy rush of anticipation?
The limitless extending before you?

I thrill in the untaken journey, the travel
not yet begun. I pause at the precipice,
cares carelessly thrown over my shoulder,
traveling companion – anxious to go – by my side.

Let’s make a deal, you say. Choose a door.
Make a decision, move forward.
But I delight in the door unopened, the atom
unsplit, the way unexplored.

Join me on my journey —
A journey that will never end
and never begin.

I am the Fool, but you may call me Wise.


The first in what I hope will be an ongoing series on the Tarot. This card focuses on the first card, numbered 0, The Fool.

The photo comes from my sister’s collection of Tarot themed drawings which she has started as a basis of stained-glass images of the cards. Her name is Edith Crouch, and she lives in Charlotte, NC where she is a well-known Stained Glass artisan.

(revised thanks to some suggestions from The Critical Poet’s Forum)

4 comments

  1. I came here from the “Best Blogs” ring, and first, fell in love with your header art – writing in the sand speaks to my soul and my memories.

    I really liked this poem, especially this verse:
    I thrill in the untaken journey, the travel
    Not yet begun. I pause at the precipice,
    Cares carelessly thrown over my shoulder,
    Traveling companion – anxious to go – by my side.

    I’ll be back to read more.


  2. Hi Daniel!,
    I’m delighted to have landed at your beachside of poetry from Blog Explosion. As an artist and a writer who adores the beach, your header drew me in as much as your poetic words beckoning hello to me.

    I tend to write too much about poetry in comment sections so if lenght is an issue, please let me know. This will be a short comment, for me. 😉

    Your poem has a strong beginning, capturing the reader’s attention immediately and beautifully with strong imagery and nice word usage. This is fairly consistent throughout the poem with use of alliteration and I identify with the soul seraching questions and struggles… Your ending is brilliant: a whopper: strong and cohesive closure to the optimism presented in your poem.

    ***Please note when you visit my site that my current piece of prose arose from mourning deaths, is in very raw form. Feel free to read it, of course, but my two poetry entires are found, by clicking the category “Poetry” on the sidebar. I have yet to post the scores I’ve poems I’ve written, because I need to protect privacy of others.

    “Passages” is written most recently. It arose from the upcoming h.school graduation of my oldest daughter. I’ve blogmarked your site.(I have another very active blog that is more geared towards my artsy side (I’m an artist).)

    I’m delighted to have found a poetry site that is written well. WIsh I could read more than one more poem tonight. I’ll be back!


  3. Daniel, What a great and original concept to put your tarot interpretations to poetry – now I can enjoy your insights and learn more about tarot meanings…your poem is soulful! Your title in the sand is so appropriate as is your connection with the tides and ocean! Wonderful!


  4. “Let’s make a deal, you say. Choose a door.
    Make a decision, move forward.
    But I delight in the door unopened, the atom
    unsplit, the way unexplored.”

    this epitimizes the Fool for me. that, and the last line, “but you may call me Wise.”

    i think i like this fool of yours, and look forward to more of his journey ^_^



Leave a Reply

