h1

That Day: A poem written with the help of my two daughters

July 9, 2005

I went with mermaids
in the mountains and
it happened then.

There was a crown
on the princesses
who married frogs.

Tomorrow they will
skydive and the ground
shook very loudly.

It was on the first
Equinox. The snow
glittered so it shimmered

very sweetly. The end of
the story is only one
word away. Each word begins it.





This poem was created in a round — each one of us volunteered a word one after the other. My 5 and 8 1/2 year olds played with me. Can you tell who went first? The poem is written in circular order.

6 comments

  1. Great poetry, I like it.

    I enjoy writing myself ๐Ÿ™‚


  2. totally cool. i also like the picture on your banner/header. very cool idea.


  3. That’s really cute–your kids are talented. ๐Ÿ™‚ Best of luck to you too!


  4. Cheers–thanks for a good run! I’m addicted to this silly BOTB–I need to get a life that doesn’t involve the internet. ๐Ÿ™‚


  5. I did a similar poem as the guest of a first grade classroom recently. Very fun and cool, as yours is.


  6. I have two daughters so I could guess…
    It’s so nice to see you interacting w/ them creatively. Both of my daughters love to write, now w/out me, plus a bunch of activities they could teach me! ๐Ÿ™‚



Leave a Reply

