h1

Silent Shadows

May 26, 2005

3/8/1986


Silent Shadows,
speak to me.
Tell me stories,
talk me free.


Whisper secrets
in my ear.
Tell me tales;
I want fear.


Tell me stories
full of spite.
Tell me stories;
tell all night.


Weave a nightmare,
speak of pain,
until the sunrise
comes again.


And morning gilds
the shadows bright.
And I am done
with fearful night.




So, this is a piece I wrote a long time ago.  Speaks of my love of the good horror story (and dark fantasy).


I did have three other endings which I wrote, scratched out, and settled on the one above, but you know me, still second guessing myself.


Do you like these other ones better?


Option #1


Until at last
when I awake;
nightmares past,
the Shadows break.


or this one:


Option #2


And morning crowds
the shadows down.
The fear I’ve lost.
The strength I’ve found.


or there is this final option:


Option #3


And morning makes
the Shadows weak.
The Silent Shadows
cease to speak.

Leave a Reply

