h1

Grace I and Grace II

January 5, 2005

Grace I


9/1984


The sun rose brightly o’er the earth,
As purple violets gleamed with dew,
And o’er these purple seas of birth,
The loud cry of my love for you


Went ringing out, as though the cry
Would surpass any previous call,
Like angels ’round the Mountain High
Heard singing in the Gilded Hall.


And on the cry went, loud and long,
As though in life it would not die,
Like Pan, I use my lyre and song,
And still remains my lovelorn cry.


……………………………………………………….


Grace II


9/1984 and 1/2002


The stars shone brightly on that day
As if they knew their reign was done,
And man and beast in step did stop,
To see themselves their newfound sun.


And oh, alas, I missed the sight
It must have been a glorious morn
To see perfection grace the earth
To see my true beloved born.


And I, your lover, have one wish:
To live with you ’til we grow old,
The stars may shine upon our nights,
But with you the days are flecked with gold.




When I was in high school, I started working on a series of love poems addressed to a fictitious paramour who I named Grace.  These were the first two of these poems.  Grace was meant to be the personification of the perfect partner, and these poems the essence of true high romance.  I guess I hoped that by naming and creating my ideal on paper, I would somehow force the real person to appeal.  She did, but not until my college years.  Now I am lucky enough to call her partner / friend / wife / mother of my children.  These poems are for my “Grace.”

One comment

  1. This comment moved from the old blog site — original date lost.

    Finally a page/blog what is not “fancy” with graphics but with words. Hope to be a daily reader. (maybe one day even write my own poem but I rather suck in that 🙂

    ps- you didn’t leave a email in your comment so i write you here (also the form in your contact section does not work some mail server problems). if you want a gmail i will gladly send you one.



Leave a Reply

