h1

Rest for the Weary

December 23, 2004

12/2001
 
Rush,
from the house to the job
from the bank to the day care
from the school to the
Rush


Run
Hurry, hurry through the day
Hurry, hurry get it done
Hurry, hurry need to
Run


Fast
Feed the dog, pay the bills
Feed the kids, clean the dishes
Feed the ego, feed the
Fast


Quick
See the windows and the sales,
O p e n   u  p,   m y   m i  n d     s     e     t     s                   s         a         i            l


And
I
pause…


Breathe


Drink
in
the
holiday


Revel in the winter gift of lazy do-nothing holiday days when the winter white snow falls and time stands still and all of my cares slip from the knots in my stomach and the stress in my shoulders and the only time I care about is now and the only place I need to be is here and I have arrived…


If only I could stay here forever


But it’s…


Back,
To the office to the school,
To the store and to the bills
To the hustle and the
Back


I want to go back
To the holy day and rest.


–Daniel T. Barkowitz





This poem was written for a poetry challenge sponspored by WBUR, Boston’s NPR News Station.  It was submitted in December 2001 and selected as a featured poem, and read on air by WBUR guest poet Molly Saccardo.   Her reading of the poem can be heard here (Real Player is required to listen to the show).

Leave a Reply

